Guest Post for Katie Burnett Photography

My friend Katie Burnett is an amazing boudoir photographer. She has a great blog about body positivity where she posts some of the photos she takes.  I wrote a guest post for her that came out last week. The original post on her site can be found here. Obviously all photo credits in this post are to Katie Burnett Photography.

Katie did a mini-shoot for me last summer when she had some leftover studio time. It was an experimental shoot for her, since I brought a few of my really good pinup outfits, did up my hair with a victory roll and curls, and dabbed on my favourite red lip stain. Apart from school and family photo sessions, I had never before been photographed by a professional. It was certainly an experience.

Confidence is the key to sexy at lease half of the time (other important keys being chemistry, mood, and enthusiastic – like, gimme a “hell yes!” – consent). I have done a lot of work around confidence and I generally do okay, but Katie was able to squash that last little bit of nerves that I had and just let me be sexy, and she captured it on film in the most amazing ways. As I previously mentioned, I have been an expert camera dodger for years. No matter how pretty/sexy/hot/attractive I looked in the mirror, I was always dissatisfied with how I looked in pictures. I believed myself completely un-photogenic and that I was just cursed to be prettier in person (what a shame).

Edmonton Boudoir Photographer
One of the photos from Katie’s candlelight shoot. (More below)

However, Katie works magic with a camera. She does what she jokingly calls “camera yoga” and gets into as many strange positions as she needs to in pursuit of the most flattering lighting and angle. She instructed me in some pretty strange-feeling ways to tilt my head, arch my back or roll my shoulder, too. Apparently I have an “angle” that happens when I look sort-of over my right shoulder, with my head tilted kind of funny. Funny it was and Katie and I laughed about the sometimes ridiculous postures that we both bent into to get the angles just right. The final results though, were simply astonishing.

She snapped about a bazillion photos and then went through finding just the right shots to edit and send to me. She emailed me a link to the online gallery she created and I was able to download the pictures, or to order professional prints if I wanted them. A few of the nice and demure shots I even sent to my mother, who is forever asking for pictures of me.

Below I have recreated the blog post as written for Katie’s blog. I have changed the placement of the photographs only, to break up the paragraphs.


I have a confession. I LOVE the dark. Never will I ever outgrow my “goth phase”. While my style has certainly evolved over the years, my love of shadow has remained. The thing about shadows is they can be used in all sorts of ways. They encompass an element of mystery, an element of romance, an element of danger, and they incite my imagination in ways that bright light just doesn’t. Shadows can be playful (think shadow puppets for children), or they can be sensual (like this photoshoot).

Edmonton Boudoir Photographer

Katie was excited about this shoot that was experimenting with style and showed me a few shots. She confided to me that she was nervous putting it together but was happy with the way it turned out. That’s why I was shocked (also appalled and flabbergasted for anyone reading from my sites) when she told me that she had trouble writing about them. After my raving, she agreed to let me do a guest post to share with you why I think they are so amazing.

Edmonton Boudoir Photographer

The artistry of these photos astounded me. The model is clothed in shadows, not fabric. It entices the viewer to see her vulnerability and strength. Because, yeah, it takes a lot of strength in today’s culture to be able to open up and not only acknowledge but embrace our vulnerable sides. The romance of this is that it draws us in and begs us to share the intimacy of these time captured moments. To embrace our own vulnerability and be content knowing that the shadows will soften our scars and the light will dispel our fears.

Edmonton Boudoir Photographer

This series truly encourages us to see the passion, strength and wonderful sensuality that exist in the simple things. Natural things like light and shadow clothing our bodies. I can’t think of any lingerie that would make me feel as sexy as being perfectly clothed by the atmosphere itself.

Edmonton Boudoir Photographer